Cheating on the Blanket – April-August 2014

I have to confess that during the creation of the blanket, I moonlighted on several other projects and this is my round up of them all!


I completed my first “pinned it, made it” Pinterest challenge – a tutu for Georgia’s fancy dress party. I’m incredibly proud of it! It’s a very simple design, strips of pink and black netting knotted round a circle of elastic, but very effective – my little superhero!
Materials: Black and Pink Tulle Netting, 1″ elastic

As another quick aside, I made a little cherry brooch from a Mollie Makes kit – very cute and easy to make.
Materials: Craft Kit from Mollie Makes Issue 43

I’ve also been working on a new home card for a friend. More crochet in the form of a little house. I used the following pattern (translated from American to English) for the tiny heart on the front:
Magic ring, 2tr, 2htr, 1tr, 2htr, 2tr, ch2 sl st to join
I just remembered to get a photo before enveloping it up. Very pleased with the way it turned out in the end.


I also started off making a whole load of crochet roses. I bought a pack of Lion Brand Bonbons yarn – little 10g balls of 8 crayon inspired acrylic yarns (bright green, tangerine, bright orange, yellow, aqua blue, purple, red, and hot pink) and set about making one in each colour to make a garland or other such decorative thing (Feb 2016 update – I’m still trying to achieve this aim! I’ve made quite a few flowers but they keep getting used on different projects!)
Materials: Lion Brand Bonbons yarn pack, Pattern from Summer Homestyle pull out from Mollie Makes Issue 40DSC_0417

Quick make of another pair of hightops for a friend’s new baby girl. I really like them. I used a bigger hook to make them this time so hopefully they’ll fit for longer than Eddie’s did.
Yarn: Sirdar Baby Crofter in shade 148 Georgie

One thought on “Cheating on the Blanket – April-August 2014

Leave a Reply

