March Cliff 2016

I had a very clear idea of what I wanted to do with March Cliff. What I was lacking, was time so I took the opportunity with one of the few childfree hours that I get during the week to knuckle down and get it done!

I previously mentioned that I’d planned to use decoupage this month. I started with 4 wooden blocks – they’re about 4 centimeters squared. The idea was to make a set of puzzle cubes with six different four-part pictures. When I went to the baby shower for my friend (see February Cliff) I used the Stamping Up supplies there to spell out my brother-in-law’s name (Duncan but Dunc for short) for one of the block sides. My friend had chosen the Sweet Li’l Things Designer Series of papers for the building blocks that we were making for her baby so the star background plus the complementary ink shade and scallop edged paper punch used for the letters were all part of this set.

I used parts of Cliff’s calendar picture to make four more puzzles. The man is straddling a canon – I don’t think there are words to describe the oddness of this! So the canon forms one of the sides plus Cliff’s lovely smiley face, his distressed Union Jack t-shirt and (yes I realise it’s weird) his knee. The final side of the blocks were decorated using a bit of recycled wrapping paper and printed letters which spell out March 2016.

DSC_0320

I attached all the sides with PVA glue and also used this to seal the cubes once everything was stuck down. I’ve spoken to several friends about this whole challenge and I’m hoping that while making them laugh it’s also inspiring them to try something new. My aims for the next few Cliffs are – in no particular order – quilling, weaving, paper-cutting and making paper beads. Really looking forward to continuing this adventure!

Leave a Reply

