April Cliff 2016

I’m so excited about April Cliff! Several weeks ago I bought a book called Anyone Can Papercraft (a bargain specialbuy in Aldi). It’s full of fantastic ideas, many of which I will be trying out througout 2016. DSC_0330After a lot of deliberation I went with making paper beads for this month’s challenge. To make them I cut the calendar page into tapered strips of paper. In the book the template for the strips started at 17mm going down to 10mm – I altered this so I started with 20mm rather than 17mm mainly so the tapered strips would tesselate nicely together so I wasn’t wasting any paper. I did 27 strips like this and then did 20 which started at 10mm going down to 5mm. The smaller strips were engineered so that they started or ended with Cliff’s face – I felt that I had to have some part of this project that would show off its origins!

Each strip was wound round a cocktail stick and secured with double-sided tape. I thought I was being clever here, only to find the next day when I came to varnish the beads that the tape hadn’t held and each bead had to be rewound and re-secured with actual real glue. I really should try harder at following instructions! After much fiddly gluing and several extremely satisfying full fingertip peels of hardened PVA I was left with 47 lozenge shaped beads in varying shades – quite a number of greens from the foliage in Cliff’s tropical backdrop, a few multicoloured ones from his “interesting” shirt, various bits of wall and jeans and a small number of bronzed-flesh toned beads including a personal favourite of mine which features Cliff’s eye.20160418_222305

Using memory wire I assembled the necklace with the Cliff’s eye bead flanked either side with other “facial” beads as the centrepiece and alternated each paper bead with flat round glass beads in a teal colour. I used mostly 20mm paper beads on the necklace bar the three in the middle. The bracelet is a lot less structured in design and intersperses sections of green and clear seed beads with the paper ones plus a few larger round beads, some offset opaque-ish cubes and some more of the flat, round teal ones to match the necklace. I think both the bracelet and the necklace have worked really well and I’m pleased to say that I’d probably wear them myself if they weren’t already destined for greater things in the form of the 12 Cliffs of Christmas.


I’ve just ordered a drop spindle and am hoping to try spinning paper into yarn for the next challenge – Google tells me it can be done – we’ll have to wait and see!

Materials: Memory wire (I bought mine from Fred Aldous), Beads – Gutermann flat round beads 6mm in colour 7300 (teal), Gutermann seed beads 2.2mm in colours 8535 (gold lined green) and 1005 (silver lined crystal) plus a few extras I had lying around.
Pattern: from Anyone Can Papercraft by Elizabeth Moad

Leave a Reply

