Crochet Ripple Blanket – August-December 2015

20150806_115051Before I started rabbit number 2, I started work on my fourth blanket. Crochet ripple this time. There were many moments of deliberation before the final colours were selected and work began in August, a few weeks before the arrival of the intended recipient. I chose 8 shades of King Cole Bamboo Cotton, a bit of a compromise between using Sirdar Baby Bamboo which is gorgeously soft but very expensive and using a cheaper acrylic which may have been harder wearing but not quite special enough for what I hoped would become an heirloom new baby gift. I was very pleased with the colours available and the Bamboo Cotton is also washable – definitely a bonus! We knew the gender before the baby was born but I didn’t want to make it all out “boyish” just in case and anyways everyone needs some Damson and Saffron in their life!

I wasn’t sure when I started. A friend began a similar ripple blanket around the same time and I’d heard reports of the foundation chain being hurled across the room in frustration! Luckily for me, the experience gained from the ripple baskets meant that the whole process was relatively painless, it just took blooming ages!

The blanket in progress travelled on our family roadtrip across the Channel to Normandy and back again via Cadbury World Chocolate Factory, yurt camping in the rain in Somerset and a visit to Stonehenge. I took it to work to put in extra time and the whole thing became a complete labour of love – I definitely owe a debt of gratitude to my work colleagues who became my personal cheerleaders and got me through the final push. It was finally finished in December and given to my nephew as a first Christmas present. It wasn’t perfect but it was beautiful.

I did a treble ripple pattern and changed colour after every two rows. The photos don’t quite do the colours justice particularly the deep purple of the Damson. I edged the whole thing in a bright teal colour (Peacock) which I love! See previous post for matching rabbit and shoes.

I’m not going to say no to doing another blanket but I think what I need to do is start using chunky yarn rather than DK so it grows more quickly and doesn’t drive me quite as mad – give me another six months though…

Yarn Used: King Cole Bamboo Cotton DK in shades 1643 Pale Mint, 518 Ice Blue, 635 Lawn Green, 533 Green, 525 Cobalt, 609 Glacier, 524 Damson and 637 Saffron with 531 Peacock for the edging.

5 thoughts on “Crochet Ripple Blanket – August-December 2015

Leave a Reply

