November Cliff 2016

dsc_0130Firstly I’ll have to apologise for this being late. I did finish it about a week ago but have been frantically trying to finish off Advent baskets (which I’ve still yet to do – three missed chocolates so far!). I’ve gone back to paper cutting for November’s project but rather than a flat picture, this is a 3-d model.
The pattern for this project, a festive woodland scene with reindeer, was taken from Mollie Makes issue 71. Theirs was very on trend with gold reindeers and a blush border. Cliff was posing on a yacht this month which gave me two distinct colours to work with – tanned skin, as always, and beautiful shades of blue from the sea. The tree in the middle was made with 6 flat shapes from plain white paper folded in half and attached together which gave a nice solid base to the whole design – I chickened out a bit and cut them all out with scissors though! The cutting out of the border was a nice way to ease myself back in to paper cutting – tiny circles with a craft knife were challenging but I got there in the end. I’m very pleased with the reindeer – I managed not to chop off any vital parts – legs and antlers remain fully intact! Most of it is put together with double sided tape although I used hot glue to secure the tree to a sturdy piece of card and glued the border in place to make everything a bit more robust.
20161127_222817I really like the finished result! In the magazine, they cover the whole thing in a glass bell jar, I’m too much of a cheapskate to fork out but I can see that it could look really lovely as a centre piece. It’s been decorating our mantelpiece for the past week and I’ll be sorry to see it go to it’s new owner!


Only one more project to go on this whole crazy adventure – I’ll do a round up and reflection at some point and of course I’ll document the big reveal. My brother in law is out of the country over Christmas and New Year so it’s likely to be January before the 12 Cliffs of Christmas are finally handed over – I’m childishly excited thinking about the look on his face!

One thought on “November Cliff 2016

  1. A fine example of handiwork! I am so looking forward to the big reveal. If for any reason I don’t comment on it, please, please give me a poke to let me know you have posted it?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

