Owl Mittens – February 2013

Cable – Eek! First foray into cable knitting – going OK but stupendous amounts of concentration needed. 2 rows done so far cable wise – am completely trusting the pattern although there was a glaring error in the second line, a 1 x 1 rib with even number of stitches is k1 p1 every row – even I, as a kntting novice, spotted that one and avoided an unwanted moss mishap. Slightly concerned about running out of yarn, I have a 50g ball when pattern specifies 100g but we’ll see… – – – – – – – – – – 7 rows done of 24 row pattern (plus ribs at either end) so getting there. – – – – – – – – – – Left hand mitten completed. Am proud of my first cable adventure. Once I’ve done the second one, I’ll have to find some buttons or beads for the eyes. Just going to cast on the right hand mitten before going to bed, something slightly addictive about this project! – – – – – – – – – – Finished! This has been the most challenging thing I’ve had to knit so I pretty much feel I can achieve anything. Still need to some eyes – can’t find the beads I wanted and the substitutes won’t fit over the needle. Also managed to get both mittens out of one 50g ball with about a foot of yarn to spare. Surplus ball to make a matching snood / scarf perhaps? Pattern: Simply Knitting Magazine Issue 94 June 2012 Yarn: King Cole Anti Tickle Merino Blend Aran in Kingfisher – – – – – – – – – – As an update as I write this now (July 2015) I never did add the bead eyes but have worn these mittens every winter since I made them – still very smug at the cabling although haven’t actually attempted any more since…

Leave a comment